What’s next?

It’s been eleven weeks now since I left my job of 5 years and I must say that the majority of the time has been absolutely splendid! If you can, I would highly recommend taking some time out from work and doing stuff that you thoroughly enjoy. Of course we can’t all do this, I was lucky enough to know that i was going to be made redundant, so i saved some cash.

I have spent a great deal of time going to the theatre, seeing contemporary dance and ballet, visiting art galleries, spending time with my mum, meeting new people via twitter, starting a blog (although a bit lax with this), catching up with friends and I have started a beginners Tai Chi course! I even bought a Ukulele and am slowly teaching myself, or perhaps more accurate, just strumming every now and then!

However, every now and then the fear arrives and stays for a couple of days. The fear of “will I ever get a job and what will I do if I don’t”. When the fear arrives it is compounded by searching the websites and seeing there isn’t anything out there that suits my skills, my salary expectations and most importantly, my values. Then you start to lower your expectations and highlight jobs to apply for that you wouldn’t normally consider. And then the phone call arrives from a trusted source at your favourite agency. She mentions a couple of great roles that are a perfect fit. Your spirits are immediately lifted (you don’t even have an interview!), yes there is hope, the right role will arrive soon and the panic eases and disappears.

Your great mood comes back and away you go on more adventures to art galleries, museums, exhibitions, all free mind!

So that has been my last few days and today the phone call arrived. So I can definitely say again, life is good!

If you are in the same situation as me, I hope this rings true for you, remember, something always comes up, hang in there. And in the meantime enjoy yourself, you never know when this great life will come to an end.

Leave a Reply

